Is Carnation Instant Breakfast Gluten-Free?
Updated as of December 10, 2012
In the spring of 2012 I began drinking Carnation Instant Breakfast as an alternative source of protein, vitamins, and minerals after reading that it was gluten-free by FDA standards. After a period of tummy trouble, I finally got around to reading the ingredients on the box and was unhappy to find "wheat starch" was listed as an ingredient. I promptly stopped drinking it and discovered that it was in fact the source of my recent problem. I was left with eight boxes of it that I passed off to my family to consume, which they did, happily.
I do sincerely miss it, so I recently contacted Carnation to check on its gluten-free status. They replied so quickly and in great detail! Here is what they said:
So for the time being I am staying off of my Instant Breakfast kick. A thoughtful reader did comment that the sugar-free variety does not list wheat starch so if inclined you could give that one a try!